Vauquelin Place

Located between Notre-Dame Street and St. Lawrence Boulevard, it has been an important part of the city since its creation in 1672. Named after Rear Admiral Louis-Antoine de Bougainville’s navigator, Joseph Vauquelin de La Fresnaye, this beautiful park has served as a meeting place for locals and visitors alike for centuries.

The first settlers to arrive at Vauquelin Place were French fur traders who established trading posts here during the 17th century. As time went on, more businesses began to open up around the square and eventually it became one of Montréal’s most important commercial centres. By 1822, Vauquelin Place was home to some 30 stores selling everything from clothing to books and furniture.

In 1844, construction began on a grand building that would soon become known as the Marché Bonsecours (Bonsecours Market). This impressive structure was built by renowned architect John Ostell with its distinctive dome becoming an iconic symbol of Old Montreal over time. The market served as an important hub for merchants until it closed down in 1962 due to changing economic conditions in the area; however today it still stands proudly as a reminder of Montréal’s rich history and culture.

Today Vauquelin Place remains one of Montréal’s most popular attractions thanks largely to its picturesque setting near both Notre-Dame Street and St Lawrence River waterfront parks such as Parc Jean Drapeau Park & Marina which offer stunning views across the Québec City skyline. Visitors are also drawn here by its many festivals throughout the year including Nuit Blanche, Just For Laughs Comedy Festival, International Fireworks Competition, Jazz Festivals & much more. In addition, there are several restaurants & bars nearby offering delicious local cuisine perfect for relaxing after exploring all this wonderful neighbourhood has to offer.