Usseira Aqueduct

Built during the 18th century, it was designed to bring water from Usseira spring to a nearby reservoir for use by the local population. The aqueduct stands at a height of 32 meters (105 feet) and stretches across nearly 500 meters (1640 feet).

The aqueduct was built with stone-masonry walls that are 1.5 m thick and supported by 16 arches made up of granite blocks. It’s considered one of the most important monuments in Portuguese civil engineering due to its size and complexity at such an early stage in history. The structure has been preserved over time despite damage caused by natural disasters like earthquakes or floods, which have affected other structures around it but not this one due to its strong construction materials used in building it.

The aqueduct is also known as “Aqueduto da Rainha Santa” or “Queen Saint Aqueduct” because Queen Leonor ordered its construction when she visited Óbidos on her way back from Fátima pilgrimage in 1711; however, there is no evidence that she had anything to do with its building process since records show that work began before her visit took place.

Today, visitors can admire this magnificent piece of architecture while walking along a path near where it stands proudly between two hillsides – just outside Óbidos city centre – offering stunning views over countryside landscapes all around them as well as glimpses into local life below them through windows cut out into some parts of the walls so people living close-by could access water easier without having to go too far away from home for their needs. Visitors can also take advantage of guided tours organized by locals who will explain more about this historical monument, including stories related to Queen Leonor’s visit centuries ago.