This street is home to two stunning buildings that have been standing since the 17th century: Nos 11 and 13 Rue François-Miron.
Nos 11 and 13 are both considered “hôtels particuliers” – private mansions belonging to wealthy families of the time. The buildings were constructed between 1650 and 1670 by Jean Androuet du Cerceau, one of France’s most renowned architects of the period. He designed them as part of a larger project called “Le Grand Dessein de la Ville de Paris”, which was meant to modernize parts of the city with Baroque architecture.
The facades on these buildings feature some truly remarkable features, including sculpted stonework and intricate ironwork balconies adorned with flowers, birds, masks, cherubs, and other decorative elements. They also boast beautiful courtyards filled with lush greenery – perfect for exploring or relaxing after a long day in Paris.
In addition to their architectural beauty, No 11 & 13 Rue François-Miron have an interesting history associated with them as well. In 1871, they became home to Gustave Caillebotte (1848–1894), an impressionist painter who used his wealth from inheritance investments in real estate projects such as these two hôtels particuliers. His art studio was located on No13’s ground floor, where he painted many famous works like “Les raboteurs de parquet” (The Floor Scrapers). Today, this building houses a museum dedicated entirely to him.
No11 has had its fair share of famous inhabitants too; it served as residence for several members of Napoleon Bonaparte’s family until 1830 when it was sold off by Charles Joseph Bonaparte (Napoleon’s brother). It then changed hands multiple times before being bought by Baron Alphonse James de Rothschild in 1872 who made significant renovations that can still be seen today.